Dear Members:


We are carefully monitoring the Coronavirus (COVID-19) public health risk, and are committed to ensuring we keep you updated on how this will impact upcoming activities and operations:


  • The CPA Nova Scotia office will close until further notice at the end of the day, Tuesday, March 17, 2020. However, our operations will continue as staff work remotely. You may still communicate with us via email as usual. A list of staff email addresses is below and also on our website.


  • We have cancelled all in person PD sessions in our learning centre until the end of April and will reassess future scheduling as the virus timeline progresses. For those members who have registered for any of these sessions, you will receive a separate email with more information.


  • Members may continue to register for on-line courses via our website.


  • Our Member portal on www.cpans.ca is fully functional, and you can renew your membership, pay your annual dues and record and declare your CPD as usual. If you need to make a payment to us by cheque and are prevented from doing so by COVID-19 (for instance, if your organization is shut down), please contact Megan Smith at msmith@cpans.ca.


  • All CPA Nova Scotia committees and the Board of Directors will move their meetings to call-in rather than in-person.


  • If you call a staff member, please leave a message on their voicemail, and they will get back to you ASAP.


  • In the midst of this ever-evolving situation, we have not yet made a decision about the Convocation taking place on May 9, 2020. We will be assessing the options over the coming weeks and will provide an update as soon as possible.


We encourage you to follow us on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn, where we will share news as it emerges. For instance, CPA Canada is working with the CRA and federal government on matters like tax deadlines and we’ll get any new information on those issues out through social media as we receive them.


We hope you and your families are all safe and healthy, and we are here to assist in any way we can in these unprecedented times.


Best regards,

Patricia Towler, CEO



CPA Nova Scotia Staff


M. Patricia ("Patti") Towler, BA, JD, LLM, CIC.C

President & CEO, Chief Legal Officer

ptowler@cpans.ca


Carolyn Gaskin

Executive Assistant

cgaskin@cpans.ca


Anne Robinson, CPA, CA, BComm

Senior Director, Regulatory Affairs and Registrar

arobinson@cpans.ca


Carol Barr, CPA, CA

Director of Professional Conduct

cbarr@cpans.ca


Bruce MacInnis, CPA, CA

Director of Professional Standards

bmacinnis@cpans.ca


Clare Bilek, BA, LLB

Legal Counsel

cbilek@cpans.ca


Danielle Roode

Associate Registrar

droode@cpans.ca


Amy MacIsaac, CPA, CA

Director of Member Services

amacisaac@cpans.ca


Cindy Mombourquette

Member Services Co-ordinator

cmombourquette@cpans.ca


Juanita Onochie

Member Services Co-ordinator

jonochie@cpans.ca


Rodney Rodenhiser, CPA, CMA, BComm

Director, Finance & Administration

rrodenhiser@cpans.ca


Megan Smith

Accounting Assistant

msmith@cpans.ca


Coralee Lewis, BPR

Director of Communications

clewis@cpans.ca