CPA Nova Scotia Awards Prestigious Fellow Designation to Six Professional Accountants and Unveils New Unsung Hero and Early Achievement Awards

For Immediate Release

Halifax, NS, September 16, 2019 – The Chartered Professional Accountants of Nova Scotia (CPA Nova Scotia) is pleased to announce that six of the provinces’ professional accountants have been awarded the profession’s highest mark of distinction, the Fellow (FCPA) designation.

This is an honorary designation awarded to Chartered Professional Accountants whose achievements in their careers or in the community earn them distinction and bring honour to the profession.  

This year, CPA Nova Scotia has added two additional award categories, the Unsung Hero Award, and the Early Achievement Award. Each will be presented to one deserving individual.

The Unsung Hero Award is given to a Chartered Professional Accountant who demonstrates dedication, commitment and outstanding service to individuals or groups within the community through volunteer activities.

The Early Achievement Award is given to a Chartered Professional Accountant who demonstrates achievement and an ongoing commitment to professional excellence or community involvement within the first ten years of becoming a CPA.

We will honour all award recipients at the 2019 Members Awards Dinner on November 22.

The recipients for the Fellow designation are (in alphabetical order):

  • Gregory Blunden, CPA, CA

  • Carol MacMillan, CPA, CA

  • Cathie O’Toole, CPA, CGA

  • Claudette Porter, CPA, CA

  • Chris Sangster, CPA, CGA

  • Wade Taylor, CPA, CA


The recipient for the Unsung Hero Award is:

  • Kim Livingston, CPA, CA


The recipient for the Early Achievement Award is:

  • Leah Boody, CPA, CMA


“Each of the eight award recipients demonstrate the CPA values of excellence, integrity and service in the context of their own work and their own community,” says Patti Towler, President and CEO of CPA Nova Scotia. “We are pleased to have such deserving individuals among our membership and look forward to celebrating with them.”



Media Contact:
Coralee Lewis
Director of Communications
[email protected]